Log in | Register

RTPI Scotland welcomes housing minister

Words: Laura Edgar

Scottish First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has announced who will make up her cabinet team and who will stand as housing minister.

Kevin StewartFollowing the Scottish election on 5 May, Kevin Stewart has been appointed as the new minister for housing and local government. His portfolio includes planning, housing, town centres, local government and community planning.

Nick Wright, convenor of RTPI Scotland, said: "We look forward to working with Kevin Stewart at what is a pivotal time for planning. The report from the independent planning review will be published soon and we would like to work closely with the government as it shapes a future work plan and a new planning bill based on this.

"This provides a real opportunity to maximise the potential of the planning system to build sustainable and affordable homes and communities.”

Climate change and land reform will have a dedicated cabinet secretary for the first time. Roseanna Cunningham has been appointed in the role, which involved reducing the country’s carbon emissions, protecting and enhancing Scotland’s environment and taking forward the government’s work on planning reform.

Keith Brown retains his role on infrastructure investment and will take on energy and energy consent as cabinet secretary for economy, jobs and fair work.

Fergus Ewing takes up the post of cabinet secretary for the rural economy and connectivity, which includes responsibility for rural Scotland, transport, connectivity and forestry.

Architecture and built heritage will still be overseen by Fiona Hyslop, who retains her role as cabinet secretary for culture, tourism and external affairs.

Other ministers alongside Stewart include Paul Wheelhouse, who will be minister for business, innovation and energy, and Humza Yousaf, who has been appointed minister for transport and the islands.

The full list of cabinet secretaries and ministers can be found on the Scottish Government website.

Image credit | iStock