Log in | Register

RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence 2015 shortlist announced

Words: Laura Edgar
RTPI planning excellence awards logo

The Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) has announced the shortlist for its Awards for Planning Excellence 2015.

Projects on the shortlist have been recognised for their national contribution to planning. They demonstrate how schemes can be delivered speedily through the planning system, as well as other consent systems.

The categories for the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence 2015 are:

• Excellence in Decision Making in Planning

• Excellence in Planning for Built Heritage

• Excellence in Planning for Community and Wellbeing

• Excellence in Planning to Create Economically Successful Places

• Excellence in Planning to Deliver Housing

• Excellence in Planning to Deliver Infrastructure

• Excellence in Plan Making Practice

• Excellence in Planning for the Natural Environment

• Excellence in Planning for the Public Realm

• Employer Award for Excellence

• Local Authority Planning Team of the Year

• Small Planning Consultancy of the Year

• Planning Consultancy of the Year

• Young Planner of the Year

With a record of 80 entries across 14 categories shortlisted for the national awards, the RTPI said they reflected the high calibre of submissions.

Rt Hon Nick Raynsford MP, member for Greenwich and Woolwich and former minister for housing and planning, is chairing the panel, which comprises 24 judges.

Janet Askew, president of the RTPI, said: “The shortlist reflects the very best planning projects, strategies and processes that are helping to make great places for people to live and work. The 80 finalists highlight exceptional examples of planning that have made an impact and brought considerable benefits. It will be a tremendous challenge picking individual category winners from such a high-quality field.”

The headline sponsor for this year’s awards is AECOM, with other sponsors including Bilfinger GVA, Planning Aid England and the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.

Andrew Jones, practice leader for design, planning and economics, EMEA at AECOM said: “AECOM is proud to be this year’s headline sponsor of the RTPI’s Awards for Planning Excellence. The shortlist is a diverse mixture of outstanding examples of planning, which really demonstrate the impact the profession has on quality and delivery in the built environment.  We look forward to seeing which entries the judges select as the category winners.”

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 6 July, 2015.

To see the full shortlist, visit the RTPI website.