Log in | Register

RTPI announces finalists for planning awards

Words: Laura Edgar

More than 60 projects and people have been announced as finalists for the RTPI’s 2016 Awards for Planning Excellence.

The awards have been running for more than 30 years and, the RTPI said, will be “strongly contested” across the categories – six for people, and seven for projects and plans.

Finalists include a community flood toolkit, the Saltaire World Heritage site plan, and an Olympic mountain bike legacy project.

Phil Williams, president of the RTPI, said: “The finalists highlight outstanding examples of planning that have made a positive impact on the local community and environment. The judges will find it difficult separating the finalists and choosing winners given the high calibre of entries this year.”

There are two new categories for this year’s awards: International Award for Planning Excellence and Volunteer Planner of the Year.

Nominees on the shortlist for the International Award are:

  • Addis Ababa Urban Renewal Initiative, Addis Ababa, Ethiopa;

  • Future Proofing Aluva, India • Masterplanning of San Vincente, Philippines;

  • Post-disaster reconstruction plan of Caojia village in Boaxing County, Sichuan Province, China;

  • Semporna Marine Spatial Plan, Malaysia • Seychelles Strategic Land Use and Development Plan, Seychelles;

  • Tana River Delta Land Use Plan and Tana River Delta Strategic Environmental Assessment, Kenya; and

  • The Tomorrow Plan, Des Moines, Iowa, USA.

Nominees on the shortlist for the Volunteer Planner of the Year Award are:

  • Bob Wolfe - hon regional secretary, Yorkshire, England;

  • David Thew - secretary to the Futures Network West Midlands, England • Emma Lancaster - associate: chartered town planner, Spawforths, Yorkshire, England;

  • Jo Samuels - planner and urban designer: BPUD and Task Group Leader, England;

  • Joanne Harding - principal planning policy officer, Halton Borough Council, England;

  • Paul Harris - policy planner, Stratford-on-Avon District Council, England; and

  • Richard Hammersley - retired, West Midlands, England.

A full list of the categories and nominees can be found on the RTPI website.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at Milton Court, The Barbican, London, on 5 May, 2016. Tickets for the ceremony will go on sale on 15 February on the RTPI website.

The headline sponsors are AECOM and Savills.