Log in | Register

Javid threatens intervention in 15 councils for local plan failure

Words: Huw Morris

Fifteen local authorities have been served notice of government intervention after missing deadlines and failing to make progress in producing a local plan.

In a letter to the councils, communities secretary Sajid Javid said planning authorities are required to publish a Local Development Scheme under the Local Plan Act 2004, setting out when they expect to reach key milestones in the plan-making process, and the timetable for producing documents to maintain an up-to-date plan.

He told the councils they had failed to meet the deadlines set out in that timetable and February’s housing white paper had warned that such circumstances are a priority for intervention.

Javid asked the authorities to outline “any exceptional circumstances” to justify their failure to produce a plan as well as any measures to speed up its publication.

The 15 councils are Basildon, Brentwood, Bolsover, Calderdale, Castle Point, Eastleigh, Liverpool, Mansfield, North East Derbyshire, Northumberland, Runnymede, St Albans, Thanet, Wirral, and York.

Image credit | Conservative Party