Log in | Register

Gavin Barwell announced as planning minister

Words: Laura Edgar
Gavin Barwell

Prime Minister Theresa May has announced that MP for Croydon Central Gavin Barwell is the new minister for housing and planning.

Former planning minister Brandon Lewis has been moved to minister for policing and the fire services at the Home Office.

Barwell has been a Member of Parliament since 2010, after being employed by the Conservative Central Office in 1993.

At the Conservative Research Department, he was a desk officer from 1993 until 1995, in the home affairs section responsible for housing, local government, the environment and inner cities.

He was elected as councillor for the Woodcote and Coulsdon West ward in Croydon 1998 and served in that post until becoming an MP.

Barwell has also been appointed minister for London.

Speaking on Twitter, he said he was “hugely honoured” to have been asked to serve as minister for housing and planning and that he is looking forward to “working with councils, housing associations, developers and investors to ensure we build the homes people need and deserve”.

A full statement from Barwell on his appointments can be found on his website. 

RTPI president Phil Williams said: “We welcome the new minister for housing and planning, Gavin Barwell. The RTPI has a long history of working closely with previous ministers and looks forward to working with the new minister.

“The RTPI is calling on him to value the critical role the planning profession has in providing solutions to the challenges and opportunities the recent vote to leave the European Union has pulled into focus, and that the new government has identified as priorities. Creating sustainable, economically and socially successful communities across the country requires a planned approach which planners are best placed to provide."

May has also appointed John Hayes, MP for South Holland and The Deepings, as the new transport minister, while Nick Hurd, MP for Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner, and Baroness Neville-Rolfe DBE CMG have been appointed ministers for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

George Eustice, MP for Camborne and Redruth,  has been appointed minister for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Last week, the new Prime Minister appointed Sajid Javid as the secretary of state for Communities and Local Government, Greg Clark as the secretary of state for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and Chris Grayling as the new transport secretary.

Image credit | Cabinet Office