Log in | Register

Nations & regions focus: East Midlands

Words: The Planner

A snapshot of planning in the East Midlands, looking at key planning themes, major projects, skills requirements and RTPI activities in the region.

The East Midlands has an identity going back more than 1,000 years as the ‘five boroughs of the Danelaw’: Derby, Leicester, Lincoln, Northampton and Stamford. The Danish influence lives on in the place names, particularly in the ‘thorpe’, ‘kirk’ and ‘by’ suffixes, which are very common. 

Watling Street, now the A5, formed the western bo.....Sign Up or Login to read full article

THE PLANNER is the Official Magazine for the RTPI

Not a member?
60 day free trial of our premium content when you Register Now

Or log in as a subscriber

Go back to The Planner Home Page